Bild von Steinen, die die Barackenstandorte im ehemaligen Häftlingslager kennzeichnen, Foto: Michael Kottmeier, 2005. (ANg 2014-479)
Stones marking the locations of the barracks in the former prisoners’ compound. Photograph: Michael Kottmeier, 2005. (ANg 2014-479)

About the Memorial

The Neuengamme Concentration Camp Memorial encompasses almost the entire historic site of the concentration camp, including 17 original buildings. It is one of the largest memorials in Germany (57 hectares), and approximately 100,000 people visit here each year.

The main entrance is located directly next to the bus stop KZ‑Gedenkstätte Neuengamme, Ausstellung. At the main entrance is a service point, where visitors can find information about the memorial.

The history of the site is explained in five exhibitions, which are in four languages (German, English, French and Russian). The memorial also comprises a research archive, a library and the Centre for Historical Studies.

Visitors can also explore the grounds of the Concentration Camp Memorial outside the opening hours of the exhibitions with the help of information panels.

Almost the entire grounds, as well as the exhibitions, are accessible for people with disabilities. Admission is free.

Dogs are not allowed on the Memorial grounds.


The Neuengamme Concentration Camp Memorial includes not just the main camp, but also three other memorials that were established at the sites of former satellite camps of Neuengamme in other parts of Hamburg:

The Bullenhuser Damm Memorial and Rose Garden for the Children of Bullenhuser Damm

The Fuhlsbüttel Concentration Camp and Penal Facility 1933–1945 Memorial

The Poppenbüttel Prefabricated Building Memorial