DeutschEnglishFrançais

HomeNewsHistoryExhibitionsBranchesBullenhuser Damm MemorialHistoryFuhlsbüttel MemorialPoppenbüttel MemorialEventsEducationArchives and libraryResearch projectsMediaNewsletters and informationContact and locationVoluntary workSatellite camps and memorialsOther linksSearch

hamburg.de

Bullenhuser Damm Memorial

Bullenhuser Damm Memorial and Rose Garden for the Children of Bullenhuser Damm


The Bullenhuser Damm Memorial, opened in 1980, is dedicated to the memory of 20 Jewish children, who were subjected to medical experiments in the Neuengamme concentration camp before being murdered, the four prisoners who cared for them, and the at least 24 unknown Soviet prisoners who were also murdered at Bullenhuser Damm that night.

The memorial's exhibition (german / english) details the history of the site as a school and a satellite camp of Neuengamme, the medical experiments, the victims, the murders and the way these crimes were dealt with after 1945. In the respective rooms, statements made by the perpetrators illustrate how events unfolded here on the night of the murders. A corridor leads to the basement rooms where the murders were committed.

The large-scale mural entitled “21 April 1945, 5 a.m.” by Jürgen Waller has been on display in the stairwell since 1987 and represents the artist’s vision of the crime scene on the morning after the murders. On the first floor, a seminar room is available for educational work. Visitors can plant a rose in the memorial’s rose garden behind the playground. The rose garden contains a bronze sculpture by Anatoly Mossiychuk which was erected in 1985 to commemorate the Soviet prisoners who were murdered here.

Opening hours: Sunday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and by appointment.
The rose garden is always open. Admission is free.


Bullenhuser Damm 92, 20539 Hamburg, Germany (Urban railway [S-Bahn]: Rothenburgsort station, line S2/ S21).

Pre-registration for guided tours: 
Museumsdienst, phone: +49 40 - 4 28 13 10.
Internet: http://www.museumsdienst-hamburg.de/
Mail: info@museumsdienst-hamburg.de

The former schoolbuilding at Bullenhuser Damm.
The exhibition